Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ] Reviews



Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Bill New York
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 107
Thumbs Down: 106
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

Conditionally Recommended. This was the Pistol that got me into fixing and modding air guns. Ive owned two of these. There is a LONG list of issues as well as mods and fixes. To anyone that simply needs to replace the Piston seal and make minor adjustments, you got lucky. I would bet money your chamber valve is leaking and you just don’t know it. Here’s the test Open it load cock it and lay it down for 20 minutes then shoot it. If you can’t or don’t want to work on guns STAY AWAY. That said. The ergonomics are wonderful. Of course they are it’s a exact rip off of Well known German pistol. What did surprise me though if you can slow down the leaks enough(one of mine doesn’t leak the other I can’t stop from leaking and have rebuilt 3 times) is the accuracy, This even with a Chinese barrel is very accurate with the occasional flyer but the challenge is to achieve as constant air pressure from shot to shot. Well worth the $35.00 I paid for them.


Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: quick reply
Recommended: Highly Recommended
Thumbs Up: 155
Thumbs Down: 158
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

pro’s

accuracy!

trigger!!

ease of loading and shooting

not loud and it sounds nice when fired (aka- the wife doesn’t mind the sound when shot in the house)

relatily easy to work on/fix if needs help

NO Recoil

comfaotable to hold and want to shoot better than i can.

no co2 , always ready to go!!!

no need to mod!!!! buy, load, shoot, and enjoy!!!

Bad points

seal can sometimes go.

the contact point inside gun have been know to slip out of aliment (5 min fix- take of grip , push back into contact, put grip back on and shoot! seal? take out grub screw, push out pin, remove piston and replace seal. 10min for both) so not really a bad point if so easy and cheap to fix on such a great gun.

review:

besides above- this gun is quickly becoming my most used. i use it for plinking and informal target. shoot great. i have only warm fuzzy feelings about this gun.

this is the second one i have owned and it is even better than my IZH-60! way better.

may guys one the fourms say they always have this one around and use it daily. i can see why, because that the way i use it too!!! it is my go to gun now and i have a 1377 and 2289 and 2240 all modded. so what do that tell ya.

it shoot more accuate than my 1377 (not as much power though but more fun to shoot) at 10-15 meters.

nice big grip with several hold options that work well. not hold sensitive and i get good accuracy from dept store pellets. (crossman’s and daisy’s are all i can get off the shelf around here)

if you learn how to do the simple fixes to this gun (if it does malfunction) than you’ll have a GREAT FRIEND FOR LIFE!!!

i hate to say this because i might kinx it but this gun is hands down- “A KEEPER!!!”

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Bryan
Recommended: Highly Recommended
Thumbs Up: 142
Thumbs Down: 146
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I bought the Marksman 2004 over 4 years ago and it’s still going strong.

I’ve fired well over 2000 pellets through it and have yet to have a failure to fire. It still has similar velocity since I bought it and it’s accuracy is very good for the price I paid.

I’ve had none of the problems other people have said they had, but I take care of my guns. It’s fun to shoot and I like that it doesn’t use co2 cartridges because those can add up quickly in price if you shoot a lot. It’s only downside is it is sometimes hard to get that 1 pump and loading the pellet takes some getting used to (but you do get used to it!).

Overall, great little gun for $99. Highly recommended (if you can still find somewhere to buy it).

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Vagrant
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 156
Thumbs Down: 161
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

A conditional recommendation.

The reviews show a lack of consistancy in Chinese products.

I’ve had mine over a year with NO problems. Pretty good sights, good trigger, good accuracy. A great pistol to practice with, in the living room. I’m left handed but due to a dominate right eye, I usually shoot right handed. This is the only pistol I own that shoots better [for me] left handed. [And, the leftside safety is easy to operate with my left index fingr]. I marked it down to 4 thumbs up because the cocking effort is a little high and loading a little awkward. Both conditions are common to this type of gun. If you get a good one, like I did, you will be very pleased and consider it a bargain. A great “bang for the buck”.

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: oldpink
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 173
Thumbs Down: 171
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I bought not one, but TWO of the Beeman P17, models of this from a local retailer.

Why two, you ask?

The first one started leaking very badly after about 150 shots went through it.

Now, ordinarily, I wouldn’t have bothered exchanging, instead asking for a refund, but the leaking was the only thing wrong with it.

I mean, terrific ergonomics and decent handling, plus a trigger that really surprised me in a good way, and best of all, the little twerp of a gun can hit ping pong balls just casually sitting on my stoop from 25 yards with ease.

So, instead of a refund, I asked to try one more time.

Well, the second time around, the gun was even more accurate, then the honeymoon was over.

Yep, not even 100 shots later, and it leaked badly enough that it had lost all power to even get the pellet out of the barrel after less than two minutes!

That’s it.

It’s refund time, and never again on this ripoff of the Weihrauch HW40PCA.

btw…if you like the looks and features of this, but you want one that actually holds up for probably your lifetime and beyond, spend the extra cash, then grab the Weihrauch HW40PCA.

Anyone who knows much about airguns will immediately recognize the Weihrauch name and its vaunted place in airguns.

Want junk?

Get the Beeman P17/Marksman 2004, thanks to China garbage.

Want something you will proudly pass down to your kids and grandkids?

Get the Weihrauch HW40PCA.

In summary, if you are tempted to get this, RUN, don’t walk away.

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Dave Jarosiewicz
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 148
Thumbs Down: 147
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I thought this was a great gun.The sights are great,the feel of the gun is great and no recoil.This is a very accurate gun.After 2 yrs.of owning this gun it’s still one of my guns in my collection that gets a lot of usage.The price is right too,about 50 bucks,you get a lot of gun for that price.I never expierienced any problems with mine and I put A lot of pellets through it.You won’t regret purchasing one of these cool guns…

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: R. Andrews
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 174
Thumbs Down: 162
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I was most favorably impressed with my Beeman 2005 (the same gun as the Marksman 2004)when I first began to use it. It seemed much better than its price would indicate. But after shooting the first tin of pellets, it began to malfunction more and more often, until it failed to expel the pellet from its barrel–actually, it failed to move the pellet at all–about every second shot. By repeatedly cocking the gun and pulling the trigger, it eventually would drive the pellet through the barrel with something like its normal force. But it would then malfunction again on the next shot. It gets worse. The sight adjustment screw fell out, the little coil spring was lost, along with the “nut” for the sight screw.

I wrote to Beeman about these problems–twice. But they would not even acknowledge my inquiry. So this pistol will be tossed in the trash can.

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Dave
Recommended: Highly Recommended
Thumbs Up: 176
Thumbs Down: 169
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

Loading a pellet in the Marksman 2004 is it’s downside, it’s a drag. However, it is a joy to plink with. Very comfortable feel & highly accurate. With a BSA Reddot on it, it’s almost unfair to the targets. Could hit empty 45 cal. brass @ 35 feet after sighting-in. (I’m usually not that good with a pistol) Don’t know how long this pistol will last, but it’s a fun shooter now!!

Review on:

Marksman 2004 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Vince
Recommended: Highly Recommended
Thumbs Up: 231
Thumbs Down: 169
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

Decent balance and weight, 400+fps with a single pump, very accurate, nice trigger, well made, good sights, etc. etc. etc.

This is the Chinese version of the Beeman P3, and stories of poor QC seem to be lessening as production continues. I’ve never handled a real P3, but I don’t imagine it’s possible to find a better non-CO2 pellet pistol than this one -for $40.

It’s hard to believe that this thing is sold by the same company that makes the beyond-awful model 1010.

The pistol isn’t perfect. Loading it is a bit awkward, and cocking it is no great treat, either. This pistol is such a joy to shoot, however – these points are mere annoyances. Besides, it is never easy to package reasonable power into a hand-cocked pistol. The single-pump pneumatic mechanism probably makes less efficient use of the cocking effor than a spring power plant, but the lack of springer recoil and the lighter weight of the powerplant make it a decent trade-off.

I had been looking for a decent non-gas operated pellet pistol for a while… after trying this thing, I found I had to look no further.