Benjamin Super Streak 177cal Reviews



Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: ezman604
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 159
Thumbs Down: 185
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

Seeing a lot of bad reviews on this gun and have to throw in my good review. This is a beast of a gun. It’s heavy, at around 10lbs and long, around 49″ total length. Personally, I like a heavy gun to help absorb recoil and to help me be more steady when scoping. Mine came from Pyramyd Air and looked exceptionally fine as far as fit and finish. I cleaned the bore and actually tore the rifle down before even starting a shooting session.

Tell you the truth, the internals needed attention. The main piston seal was damaged during the factory installation. This would have lead to poor performance from the gun. I’m not a gunsmith but just an end user with some mechanical abilities and the tools to safely disassemble a powerful springer and work on them. After tearing it down, deburring and lubricating, I reassembled the gun. The trigger definately needed some help too so I bought and installed a GRTIII trigger. That trigger is the best money anyone can spend on ANY airgun it will fit.

After reassembling, this gun is a nail driver and VERY accurate. You need to shoot a variety of pellets in any airgun to determine which one it performs BEST with. Mine (as MOST of my airguns) performed best with Crosman Preiere Hollow Points (CPHP). I can stack pellets at 25 yards and frequently shoot paintballs off golf tees at 25 yards.

This gun is not for a small person. It’s big, bulky and heavy. It takes some cocking power but doing or having a tune/lube job will help that. Straight from the box, I can see why some folks give it a poor rating. It’s a mass produced item that does not get the attention (and the subsequent pricetag) of some other brands of airguns at the factory. But with a little work, these guns are very powerful and accurate. Another BIG plus to them is the cost of replacement parts, if needed. I have purchased replacement springs, piston/seals and barrels. I have changed mine over to the .22 version and can swap barrels in a few minutes with ease. Crosman has proven to me to have some of the BEST customer service available. If you are having problems with any Crosman/Benjamin airgun, just give them a call or drop them an email.

I recommend this gun!!!!


Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Chuck Thompson
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 166
Thumbs Down: 102
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

Like most of the other comments I have read, I am disappointed beyond words in this gun. It is touted as “developed by hunters for hunters”. Well, there’s something about “hunters”, and quality, that Crosman doesn’t seem to understand on this model. I am about to receive my 5th, yes, 5th replacement gun from Crosman. For the price, you would expect a gun that both looks good and shoots good. My experience is that it might shoot as good as a dime store BB gun, but I can’t even say that for sure. The style is eyecatching but the finished woodwork has been nothing short of horrendous. Scratches in the wood, nicks, gouges, you name it. Loose screws, rear sights that couldn’t be tightened because the tapped hole was too shallow. Looked like it had tooling broke off in it. It goes on and on.

I would forgive a minor nick or scratch that could be repaired but, to get gun after gun that looked like a beaver chewed on it is unforgivable. My first gun had actually been used but sent to me as new anyway, and the woodworking was horrendous.

The worst problem I have seen again and again is that the gun will not place acceptable shot groupings. One or two shots close then follow ups that might be 4 or 5 inches off, for no apparent reason. I’ve tried several types of pellets but the problems remain. I’ve went through the barrel break in procedure as recommended, no difference. I really don’t think the barrel is the problem anyway and that the fault lies on the spring action design. The gun jumps horribly when fired and the trigger pull is unbelievably rough, as I’m sure all of you know. The gun jump happens before the pellet even leaves the barrel and therein lies a severe problem.

As an ethical hunter, I will not shoot at an animal, squirrels are my favorite small game and head shots are the only shot I will take, if I can’t be assured the shot will go where it is supposed to. I don’t know what else I can say here except that I have seen very few positive comments made about the gun.

You might wonder why I am on my 5th gun and I’ll just say Crosman Customer Service has been extremely good about trying to help me through this. Even at that, I am almost hesitant about even opening up the package on this “newest” gun as I’m already pretty sure the meager performance will be a problem with this one too.

I’m beginning to wonder if the break barrel design is an engineering flop and by what I read from you folks, and am hearing from others, there is no doubt in my mind that at least this gun is a waste of money.

I’ve tried to get feed back from the mfg. on grouping expectations on the Superstreak but they have been pretty tight lipped about it. They have to know they have a dud here and my guess is they’ve got a boatload of returns they don’t know what to do with. Let’s hope they put the hammer down on someone, somewhere, and get this embarrasing and reputation damaging problem behind them. Someone fell asleep at the wheel, somewhere.

Chuck

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: BARRY
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 112
Thumbs Down: 109
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

This is a good looking and useless air rifles i ever had,is inacurate and the trigger is terrible, so i install the GRTIII trigger try to make it better but no use the group i shoot at 25yards is 6-8 inch.And the barrel is not line up ,the open sight is the worst air gun sight in all air rifles i had even the crosman B2100 is more accurate than this junk ,the scoped will slide back after u have about 30-50 shot and u have to zero the scoped again and again…..Last thing is the twang will wake your mom too.

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Jack Jines
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 148
Thumbs Down: 148
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

The Benjamin Super Streak is junk. At 25 yards it shot a 6 to 8 inch grouping. The trigger is terrible; after less than a dozen shots it started discharging after being cocked when the barrel was returned to closed position. I went through two more of these pieces of junk with the same results. Air guns of arizona was good enough to give me full credit towards a RWS 48, now there is a nice gun Powerfull and accurate. I should have purchased the RWS in the first place. Like any thing else, you get what you pay fore……Jack

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Ross
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 124
Thumbs Down: 119
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

If you purchase this rifle to hang on the wall, show your friends and let them shoulder it before going to the movies, or consider accuracy throwing an tin can out on the lawn eight yards away and “hitting it somewhere” a victory, then this gun is for you. If, however, you expect it to perform as it looks like it should, keep your receipt ’cause it’s going back from whence it came.

Here’s the short version: five to eight hundred break-in shots and still dieseling. Half day spent at the 25yd.indoor range($13), ten brands and weights of pellets later and three to four inch groups were all this rifle could produce. The breech end of the barrel was way off center, literally 1/3 down and to the right of center, and the gas seal at the pellet entry was nearly shredded by the end of those five to six hundred shots. Lots of metal particles and grease, and unfortunately the chinese quality bug came to bite. To keep an airrifle, it has to be a shooter at 25 yards for me. Too much spring power for a .177, not enough quality control, and metal quality on scope mounts us subpar and the stop-pin sheers off to boot! Buy a Gamo 440 Hunter, clean all screws and blue loctite, 500 rds. break-in and you’ll have a keeper in .177!

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Louie
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 148
Thumbs Down: 121
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

It would be in your best interest not to buy this gun. Could not hit the broad side of a barn, literally. After trying to zero the scope in without success I took the scope off and tried open sites. No luck. Then I noticed the problem. The barrel was not lining up with the stock. BENT. I am returning the gun. I had such High hopes for this gun. It was very pleasing to the eye but machanicaly defective.

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Alphabet
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 236
Thumbs Down: 252
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

All these comments about accuracy can be summed up by looking at one thing: the scope mount. It’s el-cheapo. I guess Benjamin wanted to shave a few bucks off its manufacturng cost by putting a lousy mount in the package.

The screws on mine kept rattling loose, even after using blue loctite. Additionally, I had to shim the scope because it was shooting high, even with the elevation knob cranked all the way to its max position.

Do like I did: Ditch the scope mount that came with the gun and put a Beeman or B-Square adjustable mount on there. Take a little time to get it adjusted correctly and then see if that doesn’t turn this gun into an excellent shooter. I’ll bet you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: eddie brannen
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 137
Thumbs Down: 143
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I bought this gun with high expectations. I am new to high end air guns and thought this would be a good one. I was wrong, wrong, wrong, It is a beauty to look at but is extremely inaccurate. I would hit center of target once or twice and then group the next ten shots 3 inches from center and could never get it to consistently shoot bullseye even at 20 yards.. beyond that and forget it. I am going to try a benjamin discovery next (177) and if it is good i will try the 22 next. i hope my luck is better with these models.

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Cazadore
Recommended: Not Recommended
Thumbs Up: 323
Thumbs Down: 179
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I was going to write a review a day after receiving the rifle and give it a 4 and recommend, but I held off until now (1 week later) Out of the box the rifle was nearly dead on, and I took it out pigeon hunting that night and started bagging birds one after the other. I was very pleased with the performance and appearance save the trigger which has been remarked about in other reviews. On the third day things started to go wrong. The factory mounted scope that looks so nice came loose, no problem I thought, it’s to be expected. I also noticed that the scope stop (the bolt that keeps the scope mount from sliding back) was not holding and had actually gouged through the metal and slid back. I tightened it and put another bolt behind it to prevent it from backing out again. I remounted the scope and zeroed it. I then noticed that the bolts holding the stock to the metal had come loose. After I tightened them the gun was shooting way off. They backed out again so I used some locktight put them in again. Now the gun doesn’t shoot straight. I’ve shot it probably 700 times and it still throws pellets all over a target. It will place two or three pellets in a tight group then the next pellet will be up to 6 or more inches off, then it will make another group somewhere else on the target, then throw another one or two, sometimes it just makes a trail across the paper like it is drifting. I’ve tried holding close to the trigger guard, far from the trigger guard, supported, un-supported, sand bags, pillows, and I hold my mouth just the right way and talk to it. I’ve used light pellets 5.7gr, medium crow magnums, and tomahawks, and 16 gr pellets. None seem to work in this gun. I’m sure the online store would take it back for a refund, but I’m in Iraq and for some reason it’s OK to mail airguns to Iraq, but I cannot mail them back to the States, but that is a different gripe. I took the scope off all together, but the iron sights are no better, and even though I adjusted windage all the way to one side it is hitting far over, plus the groups are.. well there are not groups. Of course they look nice like the scope, but they are no good. (1/4″ MOA come on, it’s a joke right) Finally, I had a Benji as a kid and a Crossman. I remember the Crossman was a piece of junk and the Benji was great. I figured that even though Benjamin is now under Crossman they would have maintained some of their craftmanship, but I was $309 wrong and now I’m stuck with a nickel finish white elephant. My friend is shooting a Crossman Tac Elite and it is worse, but that is a different review.

Review on:

Benjamin Super StreakChina Made Unveiled 10/08/2007 [ 177cal ]


Star Rating:
Reviewer: Tony E.
Recommended: Recommended
Thumbs Up: 159
Thumbs Down: 160
Posted On:

See Full Review Quick View

I got in line to order one of these, but I did not pay until the distributor had them in stock..When I received it I noticed that the end of the box was taped shut..I take the rifle out of the package and it already had the scope mounted..Kinda made me think but I have tried it for a few days and the scope WILL not hold a zero..So now I have to send the scope back..I can hold a consistent pattern with the iron sights, but I have to crank the windage ALL the way over to the left to be able to hit the target and that is with NO wind..The barrel lock mechanism does not seem beefy enough to really hold the barrel straight all of the time unless you close it just right..The trigger pull is horrendous compared to other stuff I have used..But I do know this is a much more powerful gun than I am used to..It is heavy but I like that..It is also very long, but I am 6’4″ so it more than works out..The other fit and finish is excellent..I am starting to think that besides the barrel latch/lock I might have just got a not so great rifle out of a good line, but it would be very sad to think that this model of rifle might become one of the “Buy three and keep the best one” products..I hope not..I will recommend this gun if you want to try something new and I actually quite like it but I may have to exchange mine as for the money I paid for it I would not feel very good about getting stuck with any kind of problems due to lack of quality control..One word of caution: After shooting this gun for awhile be careful if you pick up a gun with a standard stock as you will try to jam your thumb through a thumbhole that is not there! lol